Current & Forthcoming Titles

Ava Chin
As an only child, and a second generation Chinese American growing up with a single mother in Flushing Queens, Ava’s  family history was shrouded in silence. In 37 Mott Street she discovers the stories she wasn’t told as a child.

As she does so she keeps returning to a single tenement building, 37 Mott Street, where relatives from both sides of her family lived from 1915 to the present, and to the devastating and long lasting effects of the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882.

Michael Cunningham
Michael Cunningham is the author of six novels:  A Home at the End of the World, Flesh and Blood, The Hours, Specimen Days, By Nightfall, and The Snow Queen, as well as a collection of re-imagined fairy tales, A Wild Swan and Other Tales, all published by Farrar Straus & Giroux.  A book of non-fiction, Land’s End:  A Walk in Provincetown, was published by Random House. His short stories have appeared in the New Yorker, the Atlantic Monthly, the Paris Review, the New York Times Sunday Magazine, New York Magazine, and other publications.

In 1999, The Hours won the PEN Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize.  It was made into a film, adapted by David Hare and directed by Stephen Daldry, starring Meryl Streep, Julianne Moore, and Nicole Kidman, who won an Academy Award for her performance.

Cunningham is a Senior Lecturer in English, Creative Writing, at Yale University.  He lives in New York City. He is currently writing a novel Glory (to be published by Random House USA).

Darragh McKeon
Darragh McKeon is the author of All That Is Solid Melts into Air (Harper Perennial 2014). Born in Ireland in 1979, he has worked as a theater director and lives in New York. He is currently writing a novel, The Country They Call Life, a full manuscript will be available December 2018.

Anders Nilsen
Anders Nilsen is an illustrator and the award-winning cartoonist of several graphic novels including Dogs and Water, Don’t Go Where I Can’t Follow, Rage of Poseidon, Big Questions, and Poetry is Useless. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Poetry Magazine, Kramer’s Ergot, Pitchfork, Medium and elsewhere. His comics have been translated into several languages, and his painting and drawing have been exhibited internationally. Nilsen’s work has received three Ignatz awards as well as the Lynd Ward Prize for the Graphic Novel, and Big Questions was listed as a New York Times Notable Book in 2011.

Nilsen grew up in Minneapolis and Northern New Hampshire. He studied art in New Mexico and lived in Chicago for over a decade. He currently lives in Portland, Oregon.

Sharon Olds
Sharon Olds was born in San Francisco. Stag’s Leap (Knopf, 2012) won the T S Eliot Prize in England, and the Pulitzer Prize.  In 2016 Sharon Olds received The Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets. In the words of Mark Doty, chancellor of the Academy, Sharon Olds is “an American master and a national treasure.”

Satan Says (1980) received the inaugural San Francisco Poetry Center Award.  The Dead and the Living (1984) won the National Book Critics Circle Award. The Father (1992) was short-listed for the T. S. Eliot Prize, and The Unswept Room (2002) was a finalist for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Olds teaches in the Graduate Creative Writing Program at New York University. She lives in New York City.

Claudia Rankine
Claudia Rankine was born in Jamaica. She is the author of five books of poetry, including the bestseller Citizen: An American Lyric, (Graywolf, 2014) which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was a finalist for the National Book Award.  Her four earlier collections include: Don’t Let Me Be Lonely (Graywolf, 2004); PLOT (2001, Grove); The End of the Alphabet (1998, Grove); and Nothing in Nature is Private (1995).

A recipient of fellowships from the Academy of American Poetry, the National Endowments for the Arts, the Lannan Foundation, and a 2016 MacArthur Fellow, she is the Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry at Yale.

Lauret Savoy
Lauret Savoy was born in America and is of mixed African American, Euro-American, and Native American heritage, She is a professor of environmental studies and geology at Mount Holyoke College where she explores the intertwining of natural and cultural histories. Trace, Memory, History, Race and The American Landscape (Counterpoint 2015) was a finalist for the 2016 Saroyan Prize, the Pen Open Book Award and the Wheatley Book award.

She is currently writing On the River’s Back a memoir, that builds from the last chapter of Trace exploring her family’s African American, mixed European and Indigenous heritage and its ties to the tidewater and Piedmont landscapes from the colonial era to the Civil War. The stories of her family and the land are inextricably linked with the rise and fall of tobacco agriculture and the origin and growth of the capital city along the Potomac River

Ocean Vuong
Ocean Vuong is the author of Night Sky With Exit Wounds (Copper Canyon Press, 2016). A Ruth Lilly fellow from the Poetry Foundation, Ocean has received honors and awards from Poets House, the Elizabeth George Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Foundation, the Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts, the Academy of American Poets, and a Pushcart Prize. His poetry and fiction have been featured in Kenyon Review, The Nation, New Republic, The New Yorker. The New York Times, Poetry and the American Poetry Review, which awarded him the Stanley Kunitz Prize for Younger poets.  Born in Saigon, Vietnam, he resides in New York City.

Gary Younge
Gary Younge writes for The Guardian, and The Nation magazine. He won the James Cameron award for the “combined moral vision and professional integrity” of his coverage of the Obama campaign. He is the author of The Speech: The Story Behind Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s Dream (Haymarket); Who Are We ­ And Should it Matter in the 21st Century (Nation Books); Stranger in a Strange Land (New Press); and No Place Like Home (Mississippi). After twelve years reporting from America, he and his family now live in London.

Authors with Works in Progress

Danny Lorberbaum
Danny Lorberbaum grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. A graduate of Bowdoin College, he has an MFA from Hunter College. His story “Burying a Stone” was published in Southwest Review, where it received the McGinnis-Ritchie Award. “Red Brick” was published in Guernica. He is currently writing a story collection, and is the recipient of the Center for Fiction Emerging Writer’s Fellowship.